poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem \"Mending Happiness\"

This is an emulation I wrote with two friends of mine (for English assignment) of Robert Frost's poem Mending Wall. We actually wrote two emulations (or parodies) and the second one is titled Mending Dress (also posted here), which is more in the form of a parody of the original. Here is a link to the original poem, Frost's Mending Wall.

Mending Happiness --12.17.01 Monday--
Something there is that doesn't love happiness,
That sends the frozen heart under it.
And spills the emotions on the table,
And makes gaps that two people often fall between.
No one has seen them made or heard them made,
But at springtime we find them here.
I let my lover know beyond the storm;
And on a day we meet to share our feelings
And rekindly the closeness between us once again.
We wear our affections rough with handling them.
Oh, just another kind of lovers' quarrel,
One on a side. It comes to little more:
There where it is we do not need the hassles:
To love with all of your soul,
Is much better than to love in limitation, I tell him.
He only says, "Good arrangements make a good romance."
Spring is the mischief in me, and I wonder
If I could put a notion in his head:
"Why does this make a good romance?" I inquire.
"Before I fall I'd ask to know
Why it was I was falling or if I would be asking at all,
And to whom I was likely to fall for.
Something there is that doesn't love happiness,
That wants it lonely." I could say "Love" to him,
But it's not love exactly, and I'd rather
He said it for himself. I see him there,
Bringing groceries grasped firmly
In each hand, like an old-fashioned husband armed.
He moves in darkness, as it seems to me,
Not of woods only, and the shade of trees.
He will not go behind the feeling of weightlessness,
And he likes having thought of it so well
He says again, "Good arrangements makes a good romance."

7:16 PM - 05.06.04 Thursday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004