poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem \"Mending Dress\"

This is a parody I wrote with two friends of mine (for English assignment) of Robert Frost's poem Mending Wall. We actually wrote two emulations (or parodies) and the other one is titled Mending Happiness (also posted here), which is more in the form of an emulation of the original. Here is a link to the original poem, Frost's Mending Wall.

Mending Dress --12.17.01 Monday--
Something there is that doesn�t love to dress,
That send the frozen garments under it.
And spills the clothes on the floor,
And makes gaps between the bed and the laundry basket.
No one has seen them made or heard them made,
But at spring cleaning-time we find them here.
I let my pants know beyond the hamper;
And on a day we meet to do the laundry
And set the detergent between us once again.
We wear our hands rough with handling them.
Oh, just another kind of soapy game,
One on a side. It comes to little more:
There where it is we do not need the clothes:
They have no meaningful purpose, I tell him.
He only says, �Good clothes make good people.�
Spring is the mischief in me, and I wonder
If I could put a notion in his head:
Why do they make good people?� I inquire.
�Before I dress I�d ask to know
If I was dressing up or dressing down,
And to whom I was dressing for.
Something there is that doesn�t love to dress,
That wants it naked.� I could say �Pants� to him,
But it�s not pants exactly, and I�d rather
He said it for himself. I see him there,
Bringing detergent grasped
In his hand, like an old maid-armed.
He moves in darkness as it seems to me,
Not of woods only and the shade of trees.
He will not go behind the feeling of freedom,
And he likes having thought of it so well
He says again, �Good clothes make good people.�

7:16 PM - 05.06.04 Thursday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004