poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem I wrote for the MADD Mock Car Crash

Here's the poem I wrote for the MADD Mock Car Crash in May, I believe it was. Anywho, I was one of the victims, dead on impact, and they cut me out of the car and everything. I almost fell asleep during, too. People said they teared up when they heard me reading the poem because they realized that we DID "die" from a drunk driver and that innocents are killed every day from drunk driving. I'm so glad that I could be a part of that!

MADD poem (mock crash) --04.09.03 Wednesday--

The day that I die,
Never thought it'd be tonight;
Just went to a party to have fun,
And now I'm dying on this night.

I did the right thing,
And said no to any beer;
But here now I lay,
Thinking of the ones I hold so dear.

So many dreams I'll never live,
So many things I'll never write;
So many things I wanted to achieve,
But here I'm dying on this night.

I wish my friends all the best,
And hope they live their lives 'til the day they rest;
And I pray they won't ever drink and drive,
Because the other driver drank and now I'm paying with my life.

I love my family and my friends,
And will miss them all so dearly;
I never got to say goodbye,
Or show my love more clearly.

Please don't cry for my life,
I tried my best to live it right;
I loved you all and just please know,
That I'm thinking of you all on this night.

My breath is short and my vision's fading;
My heart was young and now I must pay;
Please put "poet and dreamer" as my engraving,
And please live life to the fullest each and every day.

1:15 PM - 10.26.03 Sunday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004