poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem \"Sidelined No More\"

Sidelined No More --11.13.05 Sunday--
Standing on the sidelines,
I watch it all unfold before me;
Full of laughter and surprise,
I'm witness as it turns to hell.
Stuck in my place,
I want to run for help;
But captured by the despair,
I'm unable to reach out.

Standing on the sidelines,
I watch it all unravel;
Clutching at the seams,
I muster all my strength;
Desperate to lend or ease;
It's thrown at me right back.

Standing on the sidelines,
I'm at a loss for what to do;
Wanting just to comfort,
But unsure of what may befall.
Once witness to disaster,
I stare the darkness in the face;
Ready to do battle,
As camaraderie's my lance of choice.

Ready to do battle,
I stand above the melee;
I realize I know not what,
Or for who I want to fight;
By action's better than being sidelined;
I just hope my efforts don't go unnoticed;
Too often are my actions ignored.

Standing ready to do battle,
I want to prove to them my worth;
I want them to see that I'm here.
Sick of being witness to such pain;
I fly into battle to give hope a chance.
Hoping that my lance will not fail;
Hoping to give a reason to live;
I fight for all that I know,
For all that I believe.

Sidelined by insecurities;
And fumbled under the weight of it all;
Desperate to give a fighting chance for them;
Desperate to prove that I do give a damn.
So many opportunities missed;
So many chance of proof dismissed;
It's time to go out and play.

Past mistakes weaken my confidence,
But I continue into the brawl;
Larger dogs have given up;
But none carried with such passion.
It's not the size that matters most,
It's how much you bring to the table.
Give hope a fighting chance;
Give each day a worthwhile glance;
Seconds past that were in denial,
But laughter's ring is worth the mile.

Sidelined no more;
Strength at the ready;
In the middle I do battle,
Fighting for those once lost in the play.

8:01 PM - 11.13.05 Sunday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004