poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem \"No Partner\"

No Partner --11.09.03 Sunday--
Trumpets blare,
Pumping out the jumpin' tune;
All are on their feet in move;
And alone I sit in the corner.
Overcome with sadness,
I have no partner with who I can dance;
No one has come my way;
Each day is completed alone.
Piano keys tap out the swingin' beat,
Causing all to move their feet;
But I have no partner with who I can dance.
Loneliness is overcome with the flow of music;
Swaying side to side,
I singe along to the music;
Filling me with bittersweet yearning.
Wanting what I have yet to find;
I look at all those around;
But none who favor me;
Every day I complete on my own.
No one has yet asked me to dance;
My shoes tap to the beat,
As I sway to the music,
Showing my interest to dance;
But still alone in the corner I sit.
Big bands blare all around;
Creating laughter, music, and couples found;
But none come to interest me to dance.
I surrender to the blaring fact;
No partner for me is found,
I am of no interest to be bound,
With another in this dance;
None are willing to give me a chance;
I have no partner with who I can dance.
Sitting back I resign myself to watching,
Yearning to dance all the while;
I hope to be a fellow dancer;
But can't without a partner.
Giving into the husky voice,
I am swept away by the trumpet,
And shrug away my lack of partner.
The piano glistens with the heat,
Drums and bass combat the beat,
While everyone keeps time with their feet;
I sit alone in the corner;
Watching as an observer;
Giving up on finding another.
I surrender to the music and forget;
Swept away on the jazzy melody,
I give in my hopes to find;
Okay to sit back and watch the lives;
As Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong soothe,
Letting me get lost in their blues.
I hang up my coat at the door,
Simply wanting to ignore,
And quietly in the corner I sit;
Comfortable with my lack of fit.

2:00 PM - 11.11.03 Tuesday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004