poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem "Dear Dad..."

"Dear Dad..." --07.26.00 Wednesday--

If only you knew
All the things I feel inside
If only you knew
How much it hurts to hide.

Everyday all I ask for
Is the thought that you care
The recognition, the show
For the true love we share.

All I work for, all I want
Is to see your true love
All I need, all I trust
Is from heaven above.

You are my father
The man in my life
I love you father
Sometimes you show a knife.

You may not intend
But still you offend
The impressionless heart
That sometimes shows feelings tart.

I wish you'd listen
To all I have to say
I wish you'd try
To show me a way.

All that I say
Is that the love we share
Will always find a way
No matter the scare.

We have our own opinions
Our own likes & dislikes
But will you father listen
And not turn off the mic?

I know you care
And you say you love me
But will you try and share
Without going above me?

I try to tell you
My feelings on life
But when I tell you
You cut them with a knife.

I try and respect you
And expect that respect back
But when I put my plan to action
It totally goes wack.

I know that I love you
I know that you love me
I try and respect you
But will you respect me?

1:29 PM - 10.17.03 Friday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004