poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem \"I am my own history.\"

I am my own history. --02.17.04 Tuesday--
there is something that only I can know;
there is something that I hope you may never hold;
there is something we have that most forget,
but for me I have nothing that I can get.

family ties include so many different names;
names can be traced back over and over again;
again and again the past reflects back,
showing you just what things you may lack.

there is one word that describes all of this;
ther is one word that brings back all we may miss;
there is one word that never I'll know,
because my genes begin and end with just me.

history can be traced back generations;
many will find that Europe is their place of origin.
but because I was adopted,
and because I was given up at birth,
there is no way for me to trace that anywhere on Earth.

Take advantage of learning your roots.
I am rooted only where I am;
I will begin on my own.
No one can tell me who my blood is;
I am my own history.
My line will begin with me alone,
And someday will be traced back to me.

I am...                 my own line;
                my own history.
I am my own genealogy.

8:16 PM - 02.19.04 Thursday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004