poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem \"Caged Bird\"

Caged Bird --01.21.03 Tuesday--
Waking up each morning,
The day before me awaits;
Another day spent in this prison;
In this cell you've built around me.

[CHORUS:]
I know why this caged bird sings;
All she wants to do is spread her wings;
To be free;
To be me;
All I ask is to reach the sky,
To be free to live life and fly.

Can't they see,
How much it hurts to hide;
Everything I am to them,
Is nothing of importance.

I want to, need to, must write;
But to them that's just not right;
Must they mold me, scold me, hold me back;
Never letting me to be myself with no lack.

CHORUS

Dreams and hopes float all about me;
But you don't see the thought I hold;
Popping the bubbles of hope around me;
You tell me that writing is not for the bold.

Why can't you see;
How much it means to me;
To write what I feel;
In words that are real
And lavish in the praise of my friends?

Why can't you realize;
That writing is a part of me;
And never will I part from it;
So get the fuck off my back;
And let me live my life and fly free.

Why can't you see...

CHORUS

Sadness fills my eyes,
For you tell me I will never be;
My hopes are popped by your driving force;
Dreams I have before me die;
YOu won't even believe in me;
So before your eyes I will take heart and fly.

CHORUS

I don't want to be a caged bird;
I want my poems to be heard;
I don't want around me this prison;
I want you to read my work and know the reason;
But you won't see or talk to me;
You won't take the time for me;
So away I fly, away from thee.

CHORUS

This caged bird will no longer be held back;
She's taking her life in her hands and getting outta this shack;
I am ready to fly, oh why can't they see;
Why won't you just let me be free?

6:05 PM - 06.19.04 Saturday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004