poetsthought's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poem \"Midnight Hour\"

Midnight Hour --01.01.04 Thursday--
In the midnight hour,
You came to me.
Slipping quietly through the door,
Your call awakened me.

Laying in bed I called out to you,
Unsure that it was you I had heard;
But there you were,
Welcoming my gentle touch.

Willingly you came to me,
Purring at my touch;
Caressing your head I smiled.
Never again did I think I'd see you alive.

You had survived.
Touching your cheek I released my fears,
For no more were they needed;
You were here with me.

Each other we greeted,
Willingly we meeted;
In my arms I welcomed you.
As together again we were.

Watching you stalk across the bed,
I imagined what prey had fled
Before your great stature.
You were young once again.

You velvet fur of grey and white,
Blurring in the flight,
Quickly I imagined the catch,
As the meal was eagerly matched.

As I smiled at your touch;
Your sweet caress,
Your mellow purr,
You were alive.

In the midnight hour,
Slinking across the carpet,
We met once again;
In the midnight hour.

11:54 AM - 01.02.04 Friday

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kah2004